Social impact

Investing in a sustainable future is our firm’s mission. As a Bainie, you have a variety of opportunities to dedicate time and energy to your heart's projects and work out solutions for social issues. Our firm’s commitment in this area is based on three pillars: collaboration with partner organizations, engagement at local initiatives, and our day-to-day work with clients. Just recently, EcoVadis – the most prestigious platform for environmental, social and ethical performance – awarded us a gold medal, placing us among the top two percent of all companies surveyed.

Partner organizations

For many years we’ve been working with several organizations that drive positive societal change. Key areas include education, sustainable development and environmental issues.

As a pro-bono consultant, you can work with the international NGO Medair to improve relief structures, or develop sustainable fundraising solutions for UNHCR , the United Nations refugee agency.

We also support innovative local initiatives – for instance, by giving Bainies the option to become sparring partners for student-level founding teams, helping them develop solutions for pressing social problems. Examples include Vision Lab and The Mission.

Bainies in action

“Practice what you preach” is a motto we take to heart: At Bain, you have a range of options for social commitment and socially responsible action in your everyday work. The following are some of our local initiatives.

CARBON NEUTRAL

Since 2012 we have been certified as a carbon-neutral company. We offset our emissions, including trips to clients, by supporting numerous green projects. If you want to help reduce our firm’s climate impact, you can join your office’s "Green team". These teams develop and implement steps to reduce our ecological footprint, for instance by encouraging the use of low-carbon transportation on business travels.

Externships

At one of our three- to six-month externships, you have an opportunity to contribute your skill and talent to NGOs, social enterprises, and public-sector organizations. Choose between our long-standing partner organizations or a non-profit of your own choice.

Volunteer work & Fundraising

Our firm’s charity work is often based on long-term collaboration. For example, we regularly host charity auctions or fundraising campaigns. At our annual "Community Impact Day", our offices demonstrate their commitment to their respective local communities by helping to renovate playgrounds, reforest public parks and much more. At occasions like these, we’ve seen lots of hidden talents revealed!

Client work

In all our client projects, it is a genuine concern of ours to ensure that sustainability is embedded in the company’s business strategy. Why? Because we believe that sustainability holds opportunities for any organization. We help clients focus on measures that will create lasting impact, and to do well in all aspects of sustainability – from plastics recycling to climate efficiency to securing their sustainable environment, social, and governance (ESG) performance. 

Play Video

Becoming a Bainie

Are you looking for a workplace where you can actively drive social projects? Listen to what Nick has to say about his experience with Bain.

Social Impact

Unser Anspruch als Unternehmen ist, in eine nachhaltige Zukunft zu investieren. Als Bainie hast du daher verschiedenste Möglichkeiten, dich für deine Herzensangelegenheiten einzusetzen und an Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme zu arbeiten. Unser Engagement basiert auf drei Säulen: einer gemeinsamen Arbeit mit Partner-Organisationen, dem Einsatz für lokale Initiativen und der täglichen Arbeit mit den Kunden. Von EcoVadis, der führenden Plattform für ökologische, soziale und ethische Leistungsbewertungen, sind wir zuletzt mit der Goldmedaille ausgezeichnet worden. Damit gehören wir zu den besten 2 Prozent der untersuchten Unternehmen.

Partner-organisationen

Seit vielen Jahren arbeiten wir mit einer Reihe von Organisationen zusammen, die einen positiven Wandel in der Gesellschaft bewirken. Im Fokus stehen Bildung, nachhaltige Entwicklung und Umweltthemen.

Als ehrenamtliche Beratertätigkeit kannst du bspw. die internationale Hilfsorganisation Medair bei der Weiterentwicklung von Strukturen unterstützen oder dich für das Flüchtlingshilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen UNHCR auf Pro-Bono-Basis rund um nachhaltiges Fundraising engagieren.

Zudem investieren wir in innovative lokale Initiativen. So haben Bain-BeraterInnen u.a. die Möglichkeit, Sparringspartner für studentische Gründer-Teams zu werden und gemeinsam an Lösungen für drängende gesellschaftliche Probleme zu arbeiten. Beispiele hierfür sind Vision Lab und The Mission.

Bainies in Aktion

Getreu dem Motto „Practice what you preach“ hast du bei Bain unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten, dich sozial zu engagieren und Verantwortung im Berufsalltag zu zeigen. Hier findest du einige unserer lokalen Initiativen.

CO2-Neutral

Seit 2012 sind wir als CO2-neutrales Unternehmen zertifiziert. Wir kompensieren unsere Emissionen einschließlich Kundenreisen, indem wir zahlreiche ökologische Projekte unterstützen. Um Umweltauswirkungen nachhaltig zu reduzieren, kannst du dich als Bainie dem Green Team deines jeweiligen Büros anschließen. Die Teams implementieren Praktiken zur Verringerung des ökologischen Fußabdruckes, bspw. im Hinblick auf nachhaltige Transportmittel für Reisetätigkeiten.

Externships

Im Rahmen drei- bis sechsmonatiger Externships kannst du dein Wissen und Talent bei NGOs, Sozialunternehmen und Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors einbringen. Es besteht die Wahl zwischen der Zusammenarbeit mit langjährigen Partnerorganisationen sowie alternativen Non-Profits, die deinen persönlichen Interessen entsprechen.

Freiwilligenarbeit & Fundraising

Unser unternehmerisches gemeinnütziges Engagement beruht oft auf langjähriger Zusammenarbeit. So veranstalten wir bspw. regelmäßig Charity Auctions oder Spenden-Aktionen. Eine weitere etablierte Initiative sind die sogenannten „Community Impact Days“ mit dem Ziel, Verantwortung an unseren Office-Standorten zu zeigen. Bei der Renovierung von Kinderspielplätzen, der Aufforstung von Grünanlagen und vielem mehr bleibt kein verborgenes Talent unentdeckt!

Kundenarbeit

Im Rahmen jeglicher Kundenarbeit ist es uns ein großes Anliegen sicherzustellen, dass das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in deren Kernstrategie eingebettet ist. Warum? Weil wir überzeugt davon sind, dass Nachhaltigkeit eine Chance für jedes Unternehmen darstellt. Wir helfen Kunden dabei, sich auf die Maßnahmen zu konzentrieren die Bestand haben, um langfristige Ergebnisse bei Nachhaltigkeitsthemen zu erzielen – von Kunststoffrecycling über Klimaeffizienz, bis hin zur Entwicklung nachhaltiger Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance (ESG) Leistungen. 

Bainie werden

Auf der Suche nach einem Arbeitgeber bei dem du aktiv soziale Projekte vorantreiben kannst?